2022-2023 Seniors and Families Celebrate Athlete Signing Ceremony

Michelle Smith, Sports Editor

The Wantagh High School North Gym was buzzing with excitement and pride on November 9th as building administration, senior student athletes, all dressed their future schools hats, shirts and hoodies, and their families gathered to celebrate the students’ commitments to their respective colleges as well as the students’ athleticism. Starting the ceremony was a round of applause for athletes and parents alike and an endearing speech from our principal, Dr. Paul Guzzone, accenting the commitment and dedication of the athletes and parents in attendance. After Dr. Guzzone’s speech, Director of Student Services, Dr. Christopher Widmann introduced each student and their parents and lauded the accomplishments of the athletes during their high school careers. 

The somewhat bittersweet ceremony- bittersweet because the exciting next step in the students’ lives means leaving Wantagh High School behind- concluded with a group picture of the athletes in front of a Wantagh Warriors’ backdrop. Ms. Jennifer Keane, Athletic director, spoke on the students’ successes saying, “It’s a special day for this group of athletes. They are continuing their athletic careers at the next level and I could not be more proud for them and to continue to see what they do in their future.”

Nicole Baudo, who is committed to the University of Southern Florida for lacrosse, shared, “I am so grateful that the Wantagh School District put together such an amazing ceremony for the committed players. I know myself and the other commits have worked so hard to get to this point and we are so thankful to be recognized by the community.

Michael Aufiero: Dominican College

Joseph Martin: University of Bridgeport

Antony (Bam) Tsakos: Long Island University

Daniel Fisenne: Adelphi University

Ryan Arbeit: Hofstra University

Brian Doherty: Adelphi University

Timothy Henning: Binghamton University

Nicole Baudo: Florida Southern University

Olivia Nicholson: Sienna College

Lauren Rochel: Bentley College

Thalia Valdez: Long Island University

Eva Ingrilli: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Madison Alaimo: University of Virginia

Julia Nicholson: Jacksonville University

Ashlee Favata: Bentley College

Brigid Hood: Ave Maria University