Smith, Tague Take Home Journalism Awards at Adelphi


Annie Goode, Editor in Chief

Wantagh High School’s young journalists took a trip to Adelphi University for Press Day, the annual High School special event series, March 22. More than 200 young high school journalists attended the remarkable day long event. The students sit in on a panel discussion, listening to the members voice their opinions on pressing news or ethical issues, discuss problems journalists face and how to work them out. They also allow students to ask their own controversial questions to be discussed.

The students then separate into smaller groups and exchange ideas and methods of improving their journalist techniques with students from other schools. It is a great opportunity for students to connect and be exposed to other young journalists and professionals opinions.

After lunch, the time comes for the Quill awards ceremony. It’s a challenging contest that includes talented newspaper staffs from about 30 schools in New York City, Nassau and Suffolk Counties.This is where students are recognized and celebrated for their writing talent. Two Wantagh students were honored for their accomplishments.

For the fourth straight year, and the sixth year in the past seven, a Wantagh journalist won in the Most Outstanding Reporter category. Sean Smith, a senior editor in chief of the Wantagh High School newspaper The Warrior, won honorable mention in the most prestigious individual category.

“Sean takes on challenging topics that are difficult to write about and does a terrific job,” said Wantagh High School newspaper adviser Pete Kravitz. Smith also won an award for his journalism work last year at the Syracuse University ESSPA contest.

Also winning an award at Adelphi was Grace Tague, a junior, who took third place in the Feature Article category. Tague has won journalism awards each year of high school. She won first place at Adelphi for Best Opinion Piece as a freshman and has also won awards at the state-wide Syracuse contest.

Wantagh Journalists at Press Day

Adelphi University Press Day Award winners
Courtney Allison/ Third Place/ Editor
Courtney Allison/ Second Place/ Sports Story
Neal Fersko/ First Place/ Arts & Entertainment Review
Jack Goode/ Second Place/ Arts & Entertainment Review
Angela Cave/Nicole Lauterbach/ Hon Mention/ Feature Story
Andrea Hernandez/ Third Place/ Editorial
Scott Duwe/Jason Aro/ Hon Mention/ Sports Story
Jill Bongiorni/ Hon Mention/ Sports Story
Jackie Dresch/ Gold/ Most Outstanding Reporter
Jackie Dresch/ Bronze/ Best Feature Article
Chris Eisenhardt/ Gold/ Best Sports Story
Megan Ciasullo/ Silver/ Best Sports Story
Kiera Fitzpatrick/ Silver/ Most Outstanding Reporter
Rachel Kirschman/ Silver/ Best Photograph
Amanda Meyer/ Bronze/ Arts Review
Kiera Fitzpatrick/ Gold/ Best News Article
Kiera Fitzpatrick/ Bronze/ Most Outstanding Reporter
Katie Piscopio/ Hon Mention/ Best Arts Review
Dan Parker/ Hon Mention/ Best Sports Story
Dan Parker/ Gold/ Most Outstanding Reporter
Bianca Buffamonte/ Gold/ Most Outstanding Reporter
Grace Tague/ Gold/ Best Opinion Piece
Nyatasha Jackowicz/ Gold/ Best Sports Story
Sara Sneddon/ Silver/ Best News Article
Matthew Schroh/ Silver/ Most Oustanding Reporter
Grace Tague/ Bronze/ Best Feature Article
Sean Smith/ Hon Mention Most Outstanding Reporter