The Tradition Continues: XC Teams Race to Strong Seasons


Kristina Fuchs, News Editor

The 2017 boys’ and girls’ cross country teams achieved a lot this year. Despite having a relatively new and fresh team, with 20 seniors graduating last year, the Warriors still managed to pull off a remarkable season.

Led by coaches Kristen Ford and Jackie Lennon, all the runners on the team improved their race times in the 5k race by the end of the season.

“These athletes came together and continuously motivated each other to give their best effort and to compete to the best of their ability at each and every meet,” said Coach Ford.

Leading the two teams were Tess Duignan and Bryan Murphy, who both ended the season with All-County honors. Tess Duignan was also awarded the News12 Scholar Athlete Award this year.

Making all conference were: Chris D’Antonio, Kyleigh Watson, Athena Yao, Kaitlyn Taggart.

At the last meet of the season, State Qualifiers, Chris D’Antonio, Bryan Murphy, Wyatt Yustat, Matt Seaman, Michael Silverman, Sam Moritz, and Justin Reisert ran for the boys’ team. Tess Duignan, Athena Yao, Annie Browne, Kaitlyn Taggart, and Amanda Ciramella ran for the girls team.

The Cross Country team had a fantastic season and ended with a bang!